I want to teach you Photography, Videography and Software on a boat in Croatia!

Patrick Farrell
Creative Collisions
4 min readFeb 27, 2018

In late May, I am leading a sailing trip in Croatia in collaboration with my friend Marcella Korver from Active Workation. This isn’t just any sailing trip, this is a trip that has been several years in the making. This is a trip where I want to teach you as much as I can about how I have traveled the world, learned new skills, built products and made a ton of friends all while having a lots of fun at the same time.

When I graduated from Virginia Tech’s masters program in 2009, I spent 3 weeks backpacking around Europe. One of those weeks I spent on a boat called the Senia in Croatia. This wasn’t just any boat, this one was special because it has Captain Edo and the waters of Croatia.

Captain Edo is one of my favorite people in the world. I remember my first trip with him like it was yesterday. For some reason, I was always the first person to wake up in the morning as we would leave port. We became good friends those mornings as he would sail out of port onto our next destination; he even let me get behind the wheel a few times.

Captain Edo and I last summer in Croatia

I returned back to Croatia in the summer of 2016 and joined Edo on another adventure around Croatia. This time I learned even more about the islands and found some gorgeous wineries that I want to take you to this summer!

Winery near Stari Grad, Croatia where we will be having the first dinner on the trip.

With these trips to Croatia, I discovered some of the most beautiful scenery on the planet. I was in awe each time we entered a new port. There is the Senia in Makarska, one of our stops during this summers trip.

So where does that leave us now? This summer I have rented the Senia for a week with Edo as our Captain! We will be spending a week exploring the islands of Croatia. I want this trip to be a ton of fun, but I also want you to learn something at the same time!

Yes, you really can work from a boat in Croatia. We will even have high speed Wi-Fi!

This is a concept I picked up from my two trips across the Atlantic on the Nomad Cruise. While I promise that this trip will be a ton of fun, I can also promise that you will learn something if you are interested. I will have professional photo and video equipment onboard for us to take photos, make videos, fly drones, and share our experience with our friends back home.

I will teach you how I edit photos in Lightroom and Portrait Pro. I will teach you how to fly the drone, document the trip, create and edit the trip video for your friends back home. We will also talk about business and entrepreneurship and how photography and videography ties into all of it.

Drone shots over Stari Grad on the island of Hvar

I think trips like these are some of the best learning opportunities. Rather than sit in a classroom or spend hours searching through YouTube videos, you get to interact with other people that want to share their own skills. As we have a gorgeous location as our subject and back drop!

So what are you waiting for? Why not spend a week with Marcella, Captain Edo and myself while having the time of your life in Croatia? I’ve done this trip 3 times myself and I can promise you, it is worth it!

Check out the trip website here and if you have any other questions, leave a comment below.

--

--

Patrick Farrell
Creative Collisions

Founder and Business Coach for Online Entrepreneurs and Coaches. I help people create more freedom in their life and connect to their purpose.