Why you, yes you, should start blogging!

Patrick Farrell
Creative Collisions
3 min readJan 18, 2018
Need to head back to this spot in Bali, it was a great place to write.

I’ve only been at this for less than 2 months now, would you call me a blogger? I’m not sure yet, but I do think that this 90 day content creation challenge has provided a huge value to my life.

I didn’t set out on my trip to Bali to be a blogger, but as I mentioned in yesterday’s post, somehow I started writing these blog posts and I haven’t stopped yet. I have learned a ton along the way about my writing style, my thoughts and how I can use the internet to help the world. We all know it needs some tender love and care right now.

My friend Kaia Tingley messaged me earlier today about yesterday’s post; she thought it was a very vulnerable post and she thought that it would connect with a lot of people. I guess that is my goal, to connect with you, the reader; and to tell you that you can do this to!

We all have the same fears. What is someone going to think of my writing? What are people going to say? Is my writing good enough? What value do I have to add to the world?

But I’m here to tell you, you have a lot to add to the world! Just you being on this planet means you are important, and there is no one else like you. Each and every person has had different life experiences that shaped themselves into who they are.

So go share your story! Tell other people about you and what you believe in. Help others realize their full potential. You have certain skills and talents that I’m sure someone else admires and wishes they had.

Personally I wish I could make videos like Casey Neistat. I wish I could create technology like Elon Musk. I wish I could connect people like Mark Zuckerberg. But you know what? They share their lives with the world, and we can learn a lot from them. We can take pieces of what they have done in their own lives, then apply it ours and be successful. I can promise you one thing, if you don’t try, it will never happen.

Nobody said you had to be the next Steve Jobs. There was only one of him, but he did change the world. He created the technology I’m typing this blog post on. Then people copied him and took pieces of what he did and applied it to their own products.

Why do you think Apple and Samsung are constantly in legal battles? They keep copying each other, and that drives innovation. They keep making something new that didn’t exist in the world before! Though I do wish they would stop fighting and just work together; there’s enough technology missing in the world, let’s work together to invent it. Smart air conditioning anyone?

So getting back to blogging. You have value to add to the world. You have the skills to start and you are going to learn a ton along the way. You just have to start. And if you need help, you know where to find me. I’m here to help and be that person to bounce ideas of off.

--

--

Patrick Farrell
Creative Collisions

Founder and Business Coach for Online Entrepreneurs and Coaches. I help people create more freedom in their life and connect to their purpose.