I Watched All 30-Minutes of Emma Watson’s ‘Self-Partnered’ Interview

As usual, we all missed the point.

Adrienne Grimes
Creative Dissonance

--

In the last few days, I have not been able to open up a social media app without seeing comments about Emma Watson’s November 4th interview with British Vogue.

You know the one. I’m sure you do.

It’s the one where she talks about being comfortable as a single woman about to turn 30 and coins the lovely phrase ‘self-partnered’.

I’m 27 years old and I enjoy being single. I enjoy being alone without the pressure of having to share my life with anyone else if I don’t want to. So, of course, I identified with what Emma Watson was saying.

And then I watched the entire interview.

And I realized how little of their discussion was actually about being single and almost 30.

It was a very, very small amount of the 30-minute interview. Less than a minutes worth of it and at the very end. The rest of it was filled with much more important dialogue about the state of our world, being a learning and growing individual, and spreading kindness and understanding.

But that is not what is being reported.

That is not what the journalists scrapped from the lengthy interview.

--

--

Adrienne Grimes
Creative Dissonance

A writer and a reader of all the things. Follow her on Instagram @bookaweekproject and catch her social media and branding classes in the Ninja Writers Guild.