Creativity

Mikita Bazhko
Creative Existence
Published in
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

Of all the skills humans are capable of, creativity is the most abstract yet arguably the most important. Without creativity there is no art, no innovative ideas, and no uniqueness. These are all things that have propelled humanity to be the most advanced species in the known universe so therefore creativity has in many ways been the driving force behind human evolution. However, despite its importance there is still much about creativity that is unknown, which is why I want to research it in depth and to learn as much as possible. Out of everything humans are capable of, creativity cannot be mimicked. Artificial intelligence may be smarter but our ability to be creative will always make us uniquely human.

My biggest question about creativity is whether or not it is a skill that can be learned and improved or if it is simply a skill that some people are naturally born with. Is every human capable of being the next Picasso or the next Kanye West if the circumstances are right? In terms of creativity’s importance to me, I was always involved with various forms of art (drawing, photography, music) growing up but lately I have been struggling with being creative. I think a large part of this is due to the lack of creative freedom present in high school and college compared to earlier schooling. For example, why are there no mandatory creative classes or workshops in college? Can creativity even be taught in a non-hands-on approach (i.e. in a lecture)? I know many other people feel this same lack of creativity in their adult lives compared to their childhood so my findings can also benefit such people. Ultimately, I want to research how to exercise the creative part of the mind that is being neglected with my current lifestyle and how creativity can be most effectively utilized to be successful in life.

--

--