Inspired By Music

Creative Humans February 2019 Prompt • My Reply

Mark Starlin
Creative Humans
Published in
4 min readFeb 3, 2019

--

This month’s Creative Humans prompt is “How does music inspire you? How does it affect your creativity?” Here is my feeble attempt to explain.

Does music have the power to inspire us? It appears to. Many writers swear by writing to music. They say it inspires them. If you are writing a story set in Scotland, some bagpipe music might get the creative juices flowing. If you are writing a story set in a jazz club in New York, listening to Miles Davis would likely be helpful in putting you in the right frame of mind. If your story is set in New Orleans, some Dixieland music could inspire your writing.

I have only recently dabbled in this concept. I usually prefer quiet when writing. I simply cannot write while a song with lyrics is playing. Or when the TV is on. I don’t know how people write in cafés. It is too distracting for me. Being a musician first and writer second, perhaps I function differently than most writers. Music draws my attention. I actually hear the music in restaurants. LOL!

That is not to say that music doesn’t inspire me. Quite the opposite. Music makes me want to create music. It inspires me to be a better musician. When I hear a great musician play, I want to pick up a musical instrument. To do that very same thing.

--

--