Photo by Lost Co on Unsplash

New(er) Perspectives as an Independent Creative

Stefan Poulos
Creative Independence
4 min readOct 2, 2019

--

Today marks 5 years after quitting my full-time job and starting my own design consultancy. I made the leap into creative independence. And it was as exciting as it was terrifying. Yes, I willingly left a comfortable, sufficiently paid, leadership role at an agency to pursue freelance. Being my own boss. Controlling my own schedule. Starting something new. Learning all new things. Growing. Being scared again. Being hungry again.

It only makes sense for me to update my observations from my original post:

Things I’ve observed so far (after 5 years)

1. Today’s design needs more cross functional thinkers

There is a sea of sameness happening right now and I’m ready to see the evolution of user experience and interface design. I’m looking forward to seeing other design disciplines influence digital product design in-particular. For example, how would someone from broadcast design approach a website? How would a set designer approach a mobile app experience?

There are also a handful of popular “talking head” designers that seem to drive much of the conversation. So if you’re are feeling like you might be out of touch and are considering what life is like in product design… don’t be intimidated. Your naiveté to how things are always done might be exactly what’s needed to jolt a different direction in product design.

2. Your time is worth protecting relentlessly

Your time is something that you have to be hyper focused on. This is not just about the time it takes you to do your job. You have to make calls everyday on the value of every conversation, phone call, email, etc. and how it will affect your goals. Jonathan Stark describes some people as “time vampires”. I try to pick up on little indicators when discussing new projects or talking to potential new clients that might lead to an agonizing experience. I’ve even parted ways with a high paying client because they didn’t respect my time. Time is everything.

This might sound obvious, but there is no better way to understand this until you transition from a staff position to a freelance consultant. As a staff employee, there really isn’t an incentive or financial motivator to being more efficient. As a freelancer, efficiency is everything. It’s as if you are in a Formula 1 pit crew and constantly evaluating how you can work smarter to shave milliseconds off your time. It’s the pursuit of hyper efficiency.

3. I am enjoying a 4 day work week

Speaking of efficiency, I decided to try out a 4 day work week in 2019. This definitely took some adjustment. Initially I found myself not planning properly and my workload was not evenly spread throughout the week. Do you know the occasional feeling when you have upcoming days off so you force yourself into sort of a beast mode on Monday to make sure you get everything done? That’s what happens every week when you commit to a shorter work week. And then before you know, it’s your new normal.

You might not think you can accomplish the same amount of work in 4 days as you can in 5, but you can. Being able to control your schedule to this degree is one of the few beautiful luxuries of a consultant. This is also one of those things that inevitably will get you thinking about the ultimate goal of passive income. What can you start up that will replace a half day, a full day, two days of work per week?

4. There is no safety net in the freelance world. And there is no ceiling.

I look at “work” in a different way now. It’s so easy to get swept up in the corporate world and the way things just are. But after all, my experience in the corporate world is what enabled me to become a successful independent. So I don’t look back with spite, but I do see that it can be a trap for many people. They don’t call it the golden handcuffs for nothing.

Maybe it’s unfair to make these observations now that I’ve found my groove. Change is good. You don’t have to do something as drastic as I did. Go to work tomorrow with a new perspective. Be open to new ideas from anyone at any level. Tell someone that you appreciate what they do. Find new life in what you do. Reinvent yourself. Job titles don’t mean shit. Everything is cyclical. Everyday is your first day on the job. No job is too small. Try something new. Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there.

Thanks so much for taking YOUR time to read this. 😉 Your time is valuable and I hope this provided some insight for you.

Elsewhere on the web: Portfolio / Twitter / Instagram

--

--

Stefan Poulos
Creative Independence

Founder and Designer at Poulos Collective, a creative company and partner network specializing in digital product design and experiences.