THIS HAPPENED TO ME

A Promise Unkept

Honouring a promise even if delayed is the right thing to do

Josephine Crispin
Creative Juice!
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2022

--

Photo credit to the author

MOVING house, especially when you’re downsizing, is not a cakewalk.

You have to decide which sentiment-laden house stuff would go with the move, or if the same would even fit in the downsized residence.

But of all the nitty-gritty of moving, emptying closets, drawers and cupboards was tough for me. Tough because I needed to sort out which items to keep, and which ones to bin.

The task, however, turned perplexing when I found a Mirage-branded keychain, a souvenir, tucked in my old cosmetic bag. It was shoved at the back of the drawer of a dressing table.

As I’ve never been to Las Vegas, the keychain could only have been given to me.

But souvenir keychains have a rather short shelf life in my possession, so why did I keep this one?

When it dawned on me who the giver of the keychain was, I felt cold as guilt washed all over me.

Bituing Walang Ningning (A Star Without Sparkle)

The keychain was given to me by a good friend, Nerissa Cabral, during a rare get-together of Philippine writers about eight years ago.

--

--

Josephine Crispin
Creative Juice!

Writes about writing, nature, animals, the environment, social issues and spirituality. Editor and published author of romance novellas amongst other genres.