HUMOUR

The ‘Harlot’ Has Gone In The Ground

Apologies to all hyacinths

Josephine Crispin
Creative Juice!
Published in
3 min readMar 21, 2023

--

Photo taken by the author

Harlot is very old-world. The word is so archaic that it had not been included in any of the English pocket dictionaries I compiled and edited for intermediate pupils and high school students, in my other life.

But this word, harlot, which I only come across in historical novels was what convulsed my funny bones a day ago.

The smell of a ‘harlot’

“What on earth is that smell?” my husband exclaimed, eyes wide in bewilderment, as he stepped in the kitchen coming from the next room.

“What smell?” I asked, secretly amused, knowing what he was on about.

I’ve been to the laundry room the previous night, right before bedtime. That overpowering smell actually stunned me. But I kept it to myself. It was caused by my omission, and planned to deal with it the next day.

But after drinking my first morning coffee, I got engrossed in another task instead of dealing with my omission.

“It smells like a harlot in there!” my other half blurted out.

It’s the word harlot which triggered me. To laugh out loud. I could not stop laughing after hearing that Victorian word.

--

--

Josephine Crispin
Creative Juice!

Writes about writing, nature, animals, the environment, social issues and spirituality. Editor and published author of romance novellas amongst other genres.