What to Do When You Don’t Have a Mentor

Rachel Wayne
Creative Juices
Published in
4 min readSep 11, 2019

--

Image by Robin Higgins from Pixabay

Read any blog catered toward students, entrepreneurs, or professional artists, and you’ll come across an article advising you to get a mentor to help guide you through the trouble spots, boost your confidence, yadda yadda yadda.

Great! Simply approach someone and ask them to not only impart their exclusive wisdom to you, but also be a shoulder to cry on, review all your crappy first drafts, and constantly wave pom-poms for you.

Well, no. Finding a mentor should happen organically, as you form bonds with professors, fellow entrepreneurs and artists, or experienced professionals who might even be outside your field but still able to give you helpful guidance.

But what do you do if that doesn’t happen?

I never had a mentor throughout my college years, nor did I have any sort of mentor for my entrepreneurial or artistic endeavors. I did my research and obtained feedback from colleagues, and I made it through, but I always wished that I had someone I could count on to run things by, someone who would tell me when one of my ideas is crazy, someone who could relate and comfort me when I felt like a failure.

If you’re like me and you haven’t found a mentor (yet), there are some things you can do to keep yourself sane.

--

--

Rachel Wayne
Creative Juices

Artist/anthropologist/activist writing about art, media, culture, health, science, enterprise, and where they all meet. Join my list: http://eepurl.com/gD53QP