About Birthdays (YAY!)

You’re not allowed to wish me happy birthday, it’s forbidden fruit!

Carol Townend
Creative Passions 💖

--

Photo by Richard Burlton on Unsplash

Well yes. We have hit the 25th of July 2021, and that is a date that can just disappear into space and evaporate, well for me it can anyway! Or maybe I could just borrow magic like Willow (Alyson Hannigan) from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and just make it go, poof!

Seriously, age is but a number correct? I just turned 45 years old, and I can now no longer switch the numbers otherwise I’ll be 54 years old instead! Nope! not unless I want to grow old fast before my time. Life was so much simpler when I was 40 because I could pretend I was 4 again! And don’t get me started on when I hit 24 and couldn’t switch that number either, because I would even with a wand, I’d have then been 42! Age is a funny thing, it can grow in numbers and shrink in numbers (just don’t try the exact number figures like 55 and 44! Oh no, because we can’t hide that one!)

I have a severe problem with my birthday because my body tells me to piss off when it comes to ageing! Seriously! Thanks to my delayed physical development which is a medical condition that can be brought on by mental health, I do not age physically, only in numbers. I have recently been accused of lying about my age by a man who is 24 years old because I rejected him. He has convinced himself that I am the same age as him, and he now thinks I’m trying to get out of dating him! Oh, and not to mention when I’m dressed up, going to the bar is a cringeworthy ordeal because they seem to think I am younger, so I send my man in order to avoid that one!

A stressed barman who has convinced himself I am younger isn’t good to deal with without a stake! And I don’t think he would be impressed if he annoyed me and I tipped his pint over his head!

Anyway, my husband cheered me up with flowers the day before my birthday. However, as the clock struck midnight he decided to minus the 5 and turn me into a 4-year-old! I can’t decide what is worse, being 4 or 45. I mean, yes I’d love to be four again, singing Kate Bush songs at the top of my voice like I used to do (My mum says it was my potty training music, and yes, I still love Kate Bush), however, minus the ‘I don’t look my age dilemma, I love my adulthood when I’m adulting!

One thing I will say about today. I am still checking for signs of ageing; even one slight crinkle would do! The only difference is my hair is silver under my hair colourant. However,

that started when I was 35 and please don’t ask me why because I really have no idea why!

All I know is, while some people can pull silver hair off, it looks no good on me and it doesn’t make me look any older either. I just look like a Banshee without the ageing process.

Well, I may as well enjoy my life and ignore the delay I face in the ageing process because doctors say I’ll always be behind on that one. However, for me:

Age is but a number

Therefore I will just use today to celebrate my life because if I do that, it will go poof faster! So to anyone else celebrating their birthday with me today.

Happy Birthday!

--

--

Carol Townend
Creative Passions 💖

You can visit my Amazon page here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carol-Ann-Townend/e/B09GFV6C1C/ I have a big love for reading and writing poetry and fiction.