Professor Campbell and the Orange God

A newly created deity wants your advice on how to be a god

Erie Astin
Creative Passions 💖
3 min readMay 17, 2023

--

Image created by the author with Midjourney.com.

Note: This is a work of fiction.

I’m just getting back into fiction writing, so to get started on this story I relied upon the followed prompt that my mom found on the internet. My story continues immediately after.

Prompt: You are a professor who has been studying gods and goddesses for years, from religions, cultures, and mythology. One day, while you are in your house, someone knocks at the door. It’s a god who was just created a few minutes ago for a character design challenge. Now they want your advice on how to be a god.

The new-drawn god stood steaming in the rain outside the my door, the golden breath of creation still puffing in clouds from his ashen lips. Even now, minutes after his creation, I could feel the pull of his power.

So, it seems, had the beams of my house, which had cracked under the weight of his knock.

“May I come in?” he repeated. “Please, Professor. I really need your help.”

I nodded mutely, allowing him a wide berth as he stepped through the foyer and in toward the bowels of my study. The strength to smash stars hit me square in the chest as I turned to follow him.

--

--

Erie Astin
Creative Passions 💖

Travel writer. -- Humanist, animal lover, eternal striver. -- From Montana.