AGING/DEMENTIA/PARENTS

At Times Dementia Could Make My Mom So Much Fun

She would say the funniest things!

Klara Jane Holloway
Creative Passions 💖
6 min readSep 23, 2023

--

cross eyed cat
Photo Tabby’s Place Rescue. Free use.

“I’m calling 9-1-1," my mother yelled from her recliner.

She lived in an assisted living residence and had moderate dementia that was getting more severe. She scolded the children, running around in her room and being “rowdy and disobedient.”

Mom was getting worked up with the chaos, making one child crawl on her lap. She bent over and helped him up! The little one standing by the side of her recliner was getting a scolding.

“Where did all these little monsters come from”? She cried. “I’m calling the police!”

I had been visiting, but these invisible little rascals were there before me, riling my mom up. I told her I was leaving and taking them with me. As I walked out, she picked up the phone, laughed, and said they were not listening to me any better than they listened to her.

“Put that phone down,“ I told her as I turned around. My mom was so funny, but the police would probably not think so. There was nothing else I could do but round the “gang” up and convince her I was taking them all to my house.

“Take that damn cat on top of the refrigerator while you’re at it,” she said. “It keeps me…

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway
Creative Passions 💖

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!