Without Sound.

From joy to sorrow...

Joanne Olivieri
Creative Passions πŸ’–
Feb 23, 2010

--

Photo taken by author 2010
Photo by author Feb. 2E.g.
Photo taken by author 2010

The wind caresses my face while I follow cotton candy clouds dancing against blue skies. Seagulls gracefully swirl above while black hawks hover over sand dunes. The pounding of waves against the shore reverberate in a familiar echo as an aquatic symphony permeates the salt air. I breathe and inhale the refreshing sounds in a moment of sheer joy.

When all of a sudden, the silence interrupts. The birds mute, the wind quietly slapping my cheeks without even a whisper and the waves lost. Heavy footsteps, my own, are all I can hear amongst the dead solitude despite the colors of life surrounding me. For a moment, the deafness brings me to a place of relentless despair. A place where complete quiet resides and my ears no longer exist. Sounds escape me and I am lost in a world without life.

--

--

Joanne Olivieri
Creative Passions πŸ’–

Published author, poet and photographer. Love birds, animals, food, art, books, music. Contact jmcojo@gmail.com - https://medium.com/@jodapoet