The power of yet

Matteo
Creative Repository
2 min readMay 19, 2021
Photo by Ivan Aleksic on Unsplash

I started learning English when I was 10 years old. I was okay at it and loved learning it.

Then, in high school, I had the chance to take approved fancypants English tests through the Trinity College of London.

My English teacher would recommend a level and organise a test with a British language teacher coming all the way from the UK to my small Italian hometown.

The first time I took the test I did well! I scored 82 out of 100 on grade seven (intermediate stage).

That gave me confidence and made me work extra hard the year after. At the end of the year I decided to take the next level test (grade eight), even though my teacher recommended me to consider taking grade nine or ten and push a bit extra. I ignored her advice and went for the safe option.

I scored a 100 out of 100. I was so happy about it!

My teacher was disappointed and reminded me that I chose the wrong level. I still remember her facial expression in class. She said that it was probably a waste of money because it didn’t drive real effort or difficulty and I didn’t learn while preparing for it.

My teacher was applying and sharing her growth mindset. Instead of focusing what you can do now, focus on what you can’t do yet.

Now vs Yet

Have you ever played a computer game and finished all the levels at your first go? I don’t know anyone that ever did.

You embrace effort and difficulty. It’s exciting and you get to discover things along the way.

Use the same mindset for your passion, your job, your relationships (or your second language course) and let the power of yet stretch your mind forward and drive your personal growth.

--

--