Alan Bett

Alan Bett
Creative Scotland Literature
2 min readFeb 19, 2020

I joined Creative Scotland’s Literature Team in 2017, after a career in professional publishing and arts criticism.

Alan Bett, Head of Literature and Publishing at Creative Scotland. Image by Kat Gollock

I’m delighted to have taken on this role in February 2021. Prior to this I’ve worked with Creative Scotland for over three years in the role of Literature Officer where, amongst other areas of focus, I’ve been instrumental in managing Creative Scotland’s relationship with Scotland’s publishing sector.

Another passion and priority has been diversifying the voices engaging with literature in Scotland. This has in part been through identifying and removing barriers for writers to access the industry and reach readers. Also, through designing and delivering mentoring programmes for criticism and event chairing, two channels through which readers and writers meet. Programmes I’ve been involved in have diversified the pool of writers responding to the arts in Scotland, engaging with Disability Arts and Gaelic language criticism as two examples.

In addition, I’ve led on activities aiming to promote Scottish writers and writing, in Scotland, the wider UK and internationally. Participation in events and initiatives that support translation of the work of Scottish authors and poets sit alongside international book fairs and showcasing programmes to ensure our writers reach the world. All contribute to the aim of creating sustainable careers for Scotland’s writers.

My background is a managerial position in professional publishing, alongside experience in arts journalism, editing and criticism, covering the Scottish arts sector and interviewing authors and artists from around the globe for a Scottish readership. I’ve interviewed authors such as James Kelman, Jung Chang and Chigozie Obioma, introducing their work and opinions to a Scottish readership. An international outlook in this work contributed to me receiving the Jan Fairley Memorial Award for arts journalism in 2015 and has transferred to my work at Creative Scotland. I combined this with writing on film, interviewing filmmakers such as Bong Joon Ho. This is why I’ve been involved in building bridges between Scotland’s publishing sector and film and television production, helping to facilitate the journey from page to screen.

I hope the articles on this blog are supportive for those applying for funding. As ever, myself and the team are always available to discuss projects and advise on applications.

--

--