Harriet MacMillan [on sabbatical]

Harriet MacMillan
Creative Scotland Literature
3 min readFeb 4, 2020

*Harriet is on Sabbatical with the Forward Prize until Summer 2022*

Hi, I’m Harriet MacMillan and I joined the team as a Literature Officer in January 2019. My background is rather eclectic; in 2013, I graduated with an MSt in Creative Writing from the University of Oxford and in September 2019 I completed a PhD in English Literature at the University of Edinburgh, with a thesis exploring feminist rewritings of mythology in the Canongate Myths series. While studying, I worked variously in alumni relations, marketing and communications and as a tutor, storyteller, editor and proofreader. I’m also a published writer of poetry and prose, with no fewer than four unfinished novels to my name — I am thus very sympathetic to the struggles of the craft!

Like Viccy, I am also a part-time member of the team and I can usually be found in the Waverley Gate office from Monday to Wednesday. Since starting last year, I have had the opportunity to work on lots of exciting projects. I was the lead host and programmer for the 2019 Momentum Literature delegation; Momentum sees Creative Scotland working in partnership with British Council and Festivals Edinburgh to bring cultural leaders from across the world to Edinburgh during the August festivals. I was delighted to be able to host incredible programmers and publishers from 9 different countries and to programme some of Scotland’s best writers for them to enjoy. I also facilitated a sector-wide sharing day as part of the programme, encouraging Scottish organisations to learn from our international colleagues.

Other projects I have carried out this year include recruiting a host for the 2019 Dr Gavin Wallace Fellowship; Moat Brae National Centre for Children’s Writing was appointed to host a children’s writer for a year and I am excited to see the work that emerges from this partnership. I’m also just about to head to Germany for Scottish Literature Now, a three-day literary seminar hosted by British Council Germany. Louise Welsh has selected four fantastic Scottish writers and I am looking forward to sharing in this celebration of homegrown literary talent in the beautiful city of Hamburg.

In addition to these ongoing projects, I can often be found assessing applications, taking part in Open Project Fund panels, speaking to applicants at all stages of the process and supporting those we have funded as they carry out their projects. I’m the Lead Officer for Moniack Mhor, one of our Regularly Funded Organisations, and I have been lucky enough to visit their incredible site in the Highlands while attending their board meetings (I also got to sample their excellent cake).

I’m particularly interested in working with Scotland’s ever-increasing roster of literary festivals to ensure that they are programming a diversity of voices for the broadest possible range of audiences. I’m also keen to help map out pathways for individual writers, mindful of the difficulties and inequalities within the profession.

When not working for Creative Scotland, I am usually working on editing projects, tutoring English Literature at undergraduate level or, on a good day, writing one of those four novels while trying to resist starting a new one.

Viccy and I at a Bute House reception with Oksana Schur from Ukraine, one of this year’s Momentum Literature Delegates

--

--