Conquering the “Valley of Disappointment”

Creative Sparks: #17

Joshua Poh
Creative Sparks by Joshua Poh
4 min readOct 28, 2018

--

I’m reading James Clear’s new book Atomic Habits this week and there’s a whole lot to digest on the nature of work.

“We often expect progress to be linear. At the very least, we hope it will come quickly. In reality, the results of our efforts are often delayed. It is not until months or years later that we realize the true value of the previous work we have done. This can result in a “valley of disappointment” where people feel discouraged after putting in weeks or months of hard work without experiencing any results. However, this work was not wasted. It was simply being stored. It is not until much later that the full value of previous efforts is revealed.”

Atomic Habits

I remember this when I am working through creative blocks or during times when I’m working on a particularly challenging yoga pose:

Onto my 7 stories to share this week:

1. How I Discovered This Thing Called Music — The New York Times

Jackie DesForges from the New York Times perfectly describes the sense of joy and escapism which comes with listening to music on your daily commute. Music turns what can be a stressful experience into a relaxing, solitary transitory period.

“Those headphones and the music steaming through them have allowed me to build a little wall around myself when I need some space from strangers. They have given me control over the things I want to listen to and think about when I’m walking or riding from place to place.”

2. “Write Every Day,” They Say — All Things Creative by Erika Sauter

I see this as an unbraided middle finger to all the lifehackers and productivity chasers out there. Erika here reminds us there are cycles to everything. There’s a time to rest and a time to crush it.

Okay, maybe it’s not a middle finger (or is it?), but this story was a reminder for me that we are not machines.

For those who miss a day or two of writing because life gets in the way, ITS OKAY.

For myself especially where I need to take time out to take care of my parents, it’s a reminder that it’s okay when life gets in the way.

3. Is Your Product Designed to Be Calm? by Amber Case

Browsing the Forbes website fills me with anxiety, frustration and fatigue.

Have you even seen the ridiculous amounts of ads on that website?

This is the first time I’ve heard the word ‘calm’ to describe technology. Even though I’m not a UX designer, but this article gave me a new mindful framework to think about the impact of technology and digital products on the user.

4. I Read With a Stranger Every Monday Evening by Carly Mae

“Reading books to (and with) a stranger?”

This takes the experience of book clubs to a whole new level.

We pick up a book for many reasons. Perhaps it’s to discover the voices and perspectives of other people, learn about topics we don’t know about, or simply get lost in a good story.

Carly Mae describes her maiden experience reading to a complete stranger in this story:

“I look forward to reading to a stranger every week, because it reminds me that there is still good in this world — that there are still people that care.”

A different way to think about the experience and process of reading:

5. The Opposite Of Fear by Jk Mansi

“Look your worst fear in the eyes, dive into the ocean of your most debilitating fear, let it overtake and overwhelm you. Your fear cannot survive your courage to face it. You’ll have nothing to lose but the fear of losing yourself.

This made me smile today.

A exceptional mantra to remember when you’re struggling.

6. Video: Monty Python’s Eric Idle Breaks Down His Most Iconic Characters

Watch as comedy veteran Eric Idle explains with poise, humour and elegance how he constructs his many sketches and characters.
Wanna know how a master at his craft goes about his work? Watch this video.

Thanks Charing Kam for bringing this video to my attention!

7. What Chopsticks Taught Me About… by Pedro Gascon

I enjoyed this short personal account from Pedro, not just for the lesson it delivers, but also how it’s delivered.

Life lessons illustrated by utensils, eating and food? Really?

But yes, it works.

It reminds me that even the most mundane moments of your life can be used as storytelling material. And because his story is based on a mundane experience, I found the story much easier to relate to.

Perhaps this is a reminder for all of us — don’t discount your every day experiences to inspire your work.

Your story is worth telling.

People can regurgitate fact after fact, lesson after lesson, but it’s the vulnerability that comes with sharing your own personal story and tying it with a lesson for everything that makes your work sparkle.

Each week, I share 7 articles, videos or books I’m reading and write out my thoughts on them. Want to get them as they’re released? Follow the publication!

--

--