Ace of Fire

A forgotten beacon of fire maintaining life

Kim K Gray
Creative Writing with Tarot
1 min readMay 26, 2021

--

With permission from artist, Chelsea Santamaria

I am the lone fire at the forgotten temple
Deep in the forested hills I perch, great fire burning eternally

Although no one visits me anymore, I am a beacon that can be seen for miles
A reminder

Vines creep over my temple, but its pillars stand firm
Time has not taken us yet and it may never will

It’s spring, and flowers cover many of the vines
They remind me of the maidens who used to come to tend the temple
Flowered crowns circled their heads, long skirts brushed the ground as they walked
They would dance around my fire and I would reflect in their hearts

How I miss them

Yet, I continue burning strong, reflecting the heat deep within the earth and the one we spin around
We are a triangle of fire, the three of us burning strong, maintaining life

--

--

Kim K Gray
Creative Writing with Tarot

Exploring what is means to be human. Host of The Garden of Belonging Podcast.