Ace of Oceans

Mythological caretakers of the water

--

With permission from artist, Chelsea Santamaria

Night has fallen, so I am awake
My dark body glides through quiet waters
My neck and tail slither like a snake through the blue-green depths, propelled by the four flippers off my port body
The tendrils from my head and the ridge of my back sense the vibrations in the water
I keep to myself and to the darkness, like the ones before me

Always only one
And I am new

To humans we are myths
So rarely seen by their eyes

“Champ”, “Loch Ness” have been our names, and many others before

I am but small, but I will grow mighty
Caring for the waters and its creatures
Enchanting humanity with my song

Always alone and never alone

Surrendered to the will of the water

--

--

Kim K Gray
Creative Writing with Tarot

Exploring what is means to be human. Host of The Garden of Belonging Podcast.