Page of Earth

A sacred mission to plant new seeds

Kim K Gray
Creative Writing with Tarot
1 min readMay 22, 2021

--

With permission from artist Chelsea Santamaria

I am a spirit of the wood and this is my first mission

I slide my dark, round body down the branches of my mother tree, holding tightly to my cargo
I land gently on the forest floor and begin my search

My bright eyes search for the perfect spot
All my learning has prepared me for this
I will select the location for the next tree

My hands hold tight to this acorn that is a third my size
It glows with its potential
All it needs to become a tree stored inside
Plus my choice of sacred ground

I search for a place where the canopy thins so that the seed can feel the sun
I search for rich earth that will hold it

My mouth stretched in a grin of pride for this duty
I hope from shade to patch of sun and back again, searching
Until a patch of soil catches my eye
A soft ray of sun shines on it as if to say, “here”

And so it is

I plant this seed, with all its potential, then return to my own tree
Task complete

--

--

Kim K Gray
Creative Writing with Tarot

Exploring what is means to be human. Host of The Garden of Belonging Podcast.