Jimena Sanchez, Illustrator

CreativeList
CreativeList
Published in
4 min readMar 15, 2017

Jimena spent her childhood watching cartoons, playing video games and making up imaginary friends. She has worked as a freelance illustrator since 2006, mainly doing work for children and young adults. She combines the use of computer and traditional media to make cheerful, whimsical images.

Her work has been featured in books, comics and magazines. She currently lives in Mexico City, where she draws inspiration from the big city and the strange creatures that inhabit it. She spends most of her time in her study painting and watching her cat spy at the birds from the balcony …

You got into painting at a fairly early age. What has triggered this love for the discipline?

Drawing from Jimena’s childhood

Art was always a welcome presence in my home. Everyone in my family was into something like music, dancing or acting. My grandmother liked to paint. I would hang out with her during her painting classes, and eventually I joined them. I was never what you would call talented, but it was always a great source of joy.

For your paintings and illustrations, what have been your main sources of inspiration?

For me painting is something I use to combat negative feelings, so I draw most of my inspirations from things that make me happy. Whether it’s the people I love or some random thing that made me smile when I was out and about, it always finds its way into my art.

Another source of inspiration are talented creatives that are nice and kind to their fans. For instance, every time I go to a show and talk to other artists that inspire me, seeing them being welcoming and humble makes me work on my art even harder.

When you decided to become a freelancer, how did the transition go?

My first job out of college was a horrible experience where I was fired after only 5 weeks. I had applied for an illustration workshop but I couldn’t afford it after getting fired, so I applied for a job in the food industry based in another city and that was, at the time, what I thought would be the end of my art career.

When I told my mother [about the situation], she talked me into not giving up on my dreams and offered to lend the money so I could attend the illustration workshop. In this workshop, most of the teachers and students were freelance illustrators, and they taught me how to get into the business. Some people even shared their client lists and introduced me to art directors and editors. So I owe the start of my freelance career to the support and trust of my friends from the workshop, and my family.

Do you have any upcoming personal project you would like to share with us?

At the end of 2016 I was working on the third book of Agencia de Detectives Escolares with Norma Ediciones, a book series for kids that I have been very lucky to work on since 2010. I love all the characters and I’m really excited to see it in bookstores. For 2017, I have several personal projects that I started a while ago and really want to finally finish. But I won’t talk too much about them so I don’t jinx them.

You frequently exhibit and meet with your fans, when and where is your next event?

I do try to get out there once in a while, to remind people that I’m an actual person. I think it’s very important to connect and talk to the people who like your art. Being part of events have also greatly helped my art. Before showcasing, my work was all over the place, so doing shows has helped me focus my style a bit better.

I’m really looking forward to being at La Mole Comic Con in México City in March (17, 18, 19). I’ve been working since January on a new line of products and illustrations just for this event.

For the new generation, what would be your main advice for the ones who would like to pursue a career as an illustrator or painter?

You may be a prodigy, but chances are you are just a normal person who will have to work very hard to be as good as the people you admire. Find a way to keep drawing even if you feel frustrated that you aren’t improving fast enough.

Also, be a nice person and a good friend. Most of the time people prefer working with someone who is good that they like, rather than someone who is great that they don’t like.

Who should we interview next?

There are a couple of Mexican illustrators whose work I like. I’d love you to interview Oliver Flores, because he is one of my favorite illustrators and painters and I would love to know more about him.

Looking for UI designers, copywriters, photographers? Check out CreativeList, a platform fully dedicated to help you find the creative talent you need. Are you a creative yourself? Join us. Have a job for creatives? Add it into our job listing.

--

--

CreativeList
CreativeList

With more than 150,000 creatives from all over the world, CreativeList is one of the largest fair indexes of creatives.