Steven Doan, Stylist and Creative Director

CreativeList
CreativeList
Published in
4 min readMar 29, 2017

Renowned fashion stylist and creative director, Steven Doan started his career in London. He has worked for many publications, including Elle, Vogue and GQ. He has agreed to give us an exclusive look on how this all started.

You started your career as a model in Vietnam, can you tell us how this all got started?

I was encouraged by friends to enter a mister beauty contest at university. I won and that was where my model career began. I did all sorts of modeling jobs from catwalk to magazine, editorial to campaign. When I look back now, I am thankful for the experience that I had with modeling. It is such a great help when you move from being in front of the camera to behind the camera. I understand how fashion works and how to produce a great fashion story.

I also was working as a manager for the giant retailer Topshop/Topman so I learned about the commercial side of it. At the end of the day, fashion is a business like any other business — just with more crazy people (with style)!

You then moved to London to study at the University of the Arts, then your career as a stylist literally took off. How did you go from student to well-known stylist?

It took a lot of hard work and sacrifice. I dedicated a lot of time into it. I was working 7 days a week, day and night. I did not go out and did not have holidays for years. It took time too. In my case, it was less than 2 years after my graduation to do all the big covers. It is such a privileged pride that I am very grateful for!

I don’t complain about my job because I love it and I do it with passion. I think it is very important that you love what you do. You can never be great at anything unless you love it. So find what you love and work hard for it. Give it your best shot!

After lots of collaborations with many magazines, what advice would you give to all the students who are learning to be the stylists of tomorrow?

Don’t stop learning. Stay hungry. Get inspired. Always look out for new opportunities. Be patient. In my case, I guess because of my background ( coming from a third-world country and English is not my first language) I always have that instinctive urge to prove to people that I can do it, that I can make my name in the fashion scene here, that I can survive, that I am just as good as they are, and even better.

You’ve refined your style over the years. What has been your source of inspiration? Any upcoming fashion experiments you would like to share with us?

My inspiration comes from everything really. Things are around me like music, art, movies, people, concerts, landscapes, architecture, traveling. I love fashion magazines too. I have read the Vogue magazine archives since 1892 in my university and I still keep reading magazines at least once a day.

I have a few exciting stories that will come out soon: one is an ELLE cover and another is a haute cover story. You guys can come to my website www.stevendoan.co.uk to check them out in April. Also, I plan to have my solo fashion photo exhibition soon, perhaps next year.

Looking for fashion designers, copywriters, photographers? Check out CreativeList, a platform fully dedicated to help you find the creative talent you need. Are you a creative yourself? Join us. Have a job for creatives? Add it into our job listing.

--

--

CreativeList
CreativeList

With more than 150,000 creatives from all over the world, CreativeList is one of the largest fair indexes of creatives.