Fine Artist — Jenna

Carli Fronius
CREATIVE REMEDY
Published in
2 min readDec 2, 2016

How do you feel while painting and drawing? What emotions do you feel and does that affect your work?

I feel happy and stress free. I work in a stressful work environment so it’s so freeing to sit down at the end of a day and focus on something that I love to do! It definitely affects my work in that it makes me more meticulous in my art. I want to put all of my focus is what I’m creating.

Do you feel like you are able to release stress or anxiety (or any other mental health related feelings) while painting and drawing?

Yes! I feel a complete release of stress and anxiety when I draw. In fact, I feel like I can’t relax when I skip a day of art, because I don’t allow myself that time to refocus and breathe. Right now it is a creative outlet, but I’m hoping to have it take off. I would love to be able to sell my art!

Do colors play a part in your creativity?

It depends on what I’m painting, but generally yes I do use more than one color. I try to stick to just a few colors, I like to keep simple color schemes.

Do you consider your art activity to be therapeutic?

Yes, very! I think it plays a huge role in my mental health, and like I had mentioned before, I can notice a big difference in my attitude and demeanor when I skip a day of art.

What would you say/suggest to someone who doesn’t know where to begin with art, someone who wants to try art as a therapy exercise…

I would encourage them to go on Instagram or Pinterest and seek out different artists. Check out different styles, and let others inspire you. Your own style will fall into place once you start drawing. Also don’t be compare! Your art is your own and its not a better or worse than anyone else’s.

--

--