Woodworker — Jerry

Carli Fronius
CREATIVE REMEDY
Published in
3 min readDec 2, 2016

Jerry does woodworking in the basement of his house in Rochester, New York. He has been doing woodworking since taking woodshop in highschool. He has won awards for his work. While in the past he has made very detailed, precise sculptures of birds and puzzles, he currently makes abstract pieces inspired by things he sees in his daily life. Today Jerry suffers from dementia. But being that he has spent so much of his time doing woodworking, this is his comfort zone. It is something that will always be familiar, and a way to express his own creativity.

“Creativity. Something original. Something no one else has done. If you look at it long enough you can make it. There’s a lot of things around us to make something creative out of.” –Jerry

Award Winning wood sculpture from 1980’s.
Recent work by Jerry — A lot of his recent work are puzzles

How long have you been doing woodworking?

In high school I enjoyed woodshop. Then after getting married in 1960, I picked up the hobby again.

Why do you like doing woodworking?

It’s sort of an outlet. I have to see something to be creative.

Well… I guess it’s an outlet, *sigh* Why do I enjoy doing it? There’s always something new. I had an instructor once, that said put it aside and do something else. If I have a problem with what I am working on, I go to bed, wake up the next morning I can solve it. Take a break and walk away for a while.

How do you feel when working on a project?

Oh, I don’t know… I feel better, I feel like I’m creating something. It’s a hobby. I enjoy it.

I know you have your own workshop away from everyone. Why do you like to work on your woodworking alone?

I work better alone. I don’t like someone looking over my shoulder telling me what to do on a project. If something doesn’t turn out right don’t throw it away. Don’t get upset if it doesn’t look like what you had envisioned.

Do you consider your art activity to be therapeutic?

It gets me up in the morning. At this time in my life this keeps me going. I can’t wait to get started on it in the morning.

What would you tell people who do not know where to begin with art therapy?

Do something that you enjoy doing. If you have a hobby, continue doing that so that when you retire one day, you have something to take up your time that you like doing already in your spare time.

--

--