The inner criticism

James
Creativity is the Solution
2 min readDec 26, 2016

As a photographer and a writer, I can say that many people can relate to this, especially when it comes to creating arts, whether it’s Linguistics, Poetry, Photography, Painting, or producing Music. This above image was when I was working on a photography project when I was 18 years old. I felt really frustrated with the creativity block that I was experiencing at that time. I wanted to understand the source of something that was holding me back.

Hence, where I got the idea for this photo. I was able to understand what was holding me back and being able to convey that frustration visually.

Self Criticism

It’s something that comes naturally to those of us with creativity minds. Nothing is ever certain to us. Our minds have the ability to explore the backdoor to imaginary. We doubt ourselves all the time. We take criticism heavily from others.

When you say something nice to someone, they repeat it to themselves once. When you say something bad to someone, they repeat it to themselves thousands of times.

The question is, what are you going to do with your inner criticism?

Do you understand these doubts that are lingering in your head? Are they trying to tell you something? Or are they holding you back?

Self-criticism involves how an individual evaluates his or her self. Evaluate your ideas, your doubts, your fears.

Understand what they’re trying to tell you.

Replace your thoughts with
“I’m having the thought that…”

Be consciously aware why you are having those thoughts.
“I’m having the thought that I cannot do this.”
“I’m having the thought that my idea is stupid”
“I’m having the thought that my story plot sounds stupid”
“I’m having the thought that I’m not doing something right”

When you are more consciously aware of the thoughts patterns and why you’re thinking those thoughts, it’ll become more clear to you. The wall at front of you, it will start crumbling down, one brick by one brick.

Thank you for reading.

C.J.

--

--