MGMT 2275 Reflection

Ben Carter-Brandt
Creativity in the Workplace
5 min readApr 6, 2023
Photo by Rishabh Dharmani on Unsplash

Before enrolling in the course, I once heard someone in a class mention how they spent a class playing a lemonade stand game. I was immediately intrigued. The thought of taking a course that would be easy seemed like a good option going into my third year. Looking back on the course, it is more than just the easy class with a lemonade stand game. The more I engaged with the activities, the more I realized that the creative barriers and preconceptions I had built rapidly changed. I used to think that in a business context, creativity was only for marketing majors or a half-baked corporate strategy to reduce conflicts in the office. However, through the principles and the bonds I build with my group members, I’ve learned that creativity comes in all forms, and is only restricted by one’s preconceptions.

At what point in the course did you feel most engaged?

The way the course is set up, engaging with your group members was unavoidable. Instead of fearing this, I decided to take the risk and embrace it. This led me to work with some of the funniest and smartest people I have ever worked with. Working alongside my amazing group members allowed me to constantly be engaged with the class activities we were working on each class. This especially peaked at the end of the course when we would all find faster ways to play the business simulator. Everyone in the group was contributing small ideas outside of class in order to make our time together in class more engaging and enjoyable.

Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

Which process do you think will be most useful in the future?

One major takeaway for me in this class was mind mapping. At first, I thought it was silly and a little useless. However, the more I used it throughout the semester, the easier I found it to come up with new ideas and connections for whatever I was mind mapping. Going forward, I see myself making mind maps at the beginning of projects so that I can get a grasp of the direction I intend to go. I found using Google Drawings as a great tool for mind mapping, but I intend on trying new mediums at some point.

Photo by Alvaro Reyes on Unsplash

What will you remember in 5 years from now that you learned in this course?

When I look back on this course in 5 years, I’m going to remember the people I took it with. I did not know a single person in my group but by the end of the course, it felt like I was friends with my group for years. Collaborating with a diverse group of people that were just as engaged as I was helped me better understand the task at hand while also seeing things from new perspectives. Being understanding and open about ideas to a group that embraces creativity lays the groundwork for creative processes and innovative ideas.

Photo by Laura Fuhrman on Unsplash

Which assignment did you most enjoy completing?

Throughout the course, there were numerous enjoyable assignments. From the lemonade stand game on Cool Math Games to the paper airplane challenge, each week introduced a fun activity. If I had to choose one, it would be the Monopoly business simulator. This activity spans all of Unit 3 and teaches the importance of taking risks and evaluating strategies. Throughout the 3 weeks of the simulator, my group and I would constantly come up with new tactics and strategies to implement each time we played. By the time we got to the last class of the semester, we were playing for 95% of the class time. Here is a list of some of our ideas on how to play the business simulator faster:

  • Immediately use the speed dice instead of waiting to pass go
  • Spin a wheel to randomly give out one property to each player at the start of the game
  • Complete the pre-quizzes before going to class
  • Use a spreadsheet to keep track of money, transactions, and the final capital gain/loss
Photo by Robert Linder on Unsplash

What advice would you give a friend about how to learn the most from this course?

There are a variety of things I would recommend to someone when taking this course. The most important in my opinion is being engaged with your group. Engaging with the group and going to class makes the overall experience significantly more enjoyable. The class provides a great opportunity to talk and laugh and be engaged with the content, which enhances the overall learning experience.

Another bit of advice would be to read the articles and principles provided. The readings aren’t difficult and are full of videos that can inspire you to make changes in your life that can enhance your creativity.

My last bit of advice would be to manage your time effectively. Although the tasks in the class aren’t particularly difficult, they can quickly become time consuming, especially in the beginning. I would recommend setting aside a couple of hours a week to complete the project tasks and post quizzes to make sure you stay on top of the work. Every Friday I set aside 2–3 hours to complete the tasks, and by the end of the semester, I was able to complete all the tasks in less than 2 hours.

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

What about the course surprised you the most?

The thing that surprised me the most in the course is how many different ways creativity can be incorporated into my workplace. I used to think that creativity was a natural talent and you either had it or you didn’t it. However, after learning the creative process in the course I can better understand the nuances of creativity in everyday tasks in a workplace. From changing my surroundings, listing my tasks, mind mapping my ideas, and collaborating with peers, I can continue to incorporate creativity as a way to generate more useful and innovative solutions to whatever I’m faced with.

Photo by Nishant Jain on Unsplash

--

--