15 Brief Tips to Instantly Improve Your Writing

Lessons from a seasoned writing instructor

Darius Foroux
Creators Hub
Published in
5 min readFeb 1, 2022

--

This story is behind Medium’s membership paywall, which means the writer earns through our Partner Program. To become a Medium member, click here.

Without a doubt, writing is the most important skill in my life. Better writing helped me to think and communicate better, which resulted in more happiness and career opportunities.

It’s the skill I apply the most. And it took me time and plenty of trial and error to learn. So in this article, I’ll share 15 brief tips you can instantly apply to your writing without studying the craft for years. These tips will help you to stand with your words.

1. Keep it brief

Short writing forces you to be clear. Because our thoughts are usually abstract and all over the place, our writing tends to be the same.

You can avoid that by always aiming to be as brief as possible.

2. Assume your reader doesn’t know what you’re talking about

People live busy lives. So we can’t expect they’ll know what we’re talking about. When you’re writing an email, report, message, article, and so forth; assume that your reader doesn’t have the same…

--

--

Darius Foroux
Creators Hub

I’m no longer publishing on Medium. Join my free weekly newsletter here: dariusforoux.com/wise-wealthy