Advice for ‘The Perfect Writing Space’ Is Elitist Bullhonkey

We need to stop gatekeeping what ‘writing’ looks like

Yi Shun Lai
Creators Hub
Published in
6 min readOct 22, 2021

--

picture of a wooden gate set inside a wall of ivy.
Photo by Victoria Strukovskaya on Unsplash

Dear Reader,

I write to you from my office. It was my dad’s office when we lived in this house growing up. I have made it my own — painted the dark wood veneer light grey; pivoted my desk to face the windows; filled a corner with a sunny yellow recliner and ottoman. I haven’t figured out what to do with the wet bar to my left, but I have removed the smoked-glass mirror from the backsplash and filled the resulting wall with artwork from people I know.

I’m sitting in a traditional wooden swivel “teacher’s chair” from Levenger.com, that shopping outlet for folks who can afford to buy luxury reading and writing equipment. My monitor is sitting on top of a matching cherrywood stand.

What else is on my desk? A desk lamp that I took time to research the heck out of, a jar filled with my preferred writing instruments (fountain pens and tri-color pens and highlighters and pencils).

My Mac is playing Spotify. A list of jazz classics, which I learned to love in my midtwenties when I was dating a guy who was a dead ringer for Clark Kent and wore bow ties.

I love my office. It has a door! And even though my husband and I are both working…

--

--

Yi Shun Lai
Creators Hub

Author: A SUFFRAGISTS’S GUIDE TO THE ANTARCTIC (2024), Pin Ups (2020). Former columnist, The Writer. theGooddirt.org Psst: Say “yeeshun.” You can do it!