Medium 101

Are You a New Writer on Medium? Start Here.

These best practices can save you years of stress

Darius Foroux
Creators Hub
Published in
6 min readJul 21, 2021

--

This story is behind Medium’s membership paywall, which means the writer earns through our Partner Program. To become a Medium member, click here.

When I started publishing articles on Medium in 2015, I had no readers, and no one on the internet knew me. But as soon as I started writing here, I instantly enjoyed this platform.

I had just published my first book, Win Your Inner Battles, and I was trying to find readers. I found Medium through Google. I was searching for a bunch of topics on writing, productivity, and entrepreneurship.

And I thought, “Why are there so many Medium articles ranking high on Google? I need to look into this.”

What I found was this: Medium is not only a site with authority, it’s also a site that has millions of readers who are already on the platform. By publishing on Medium, you can meet readers where they are.

Over the last six years, this platform has gone through a lot of changes. But one thing remained constant: The readership. Sure, people come and go. But I’ve never experienced a long period of low engagement.

--

--

Darius Foroux
Creators Hub

I write about productivity, habits, decision making, and personal finance. Join my free weekly newsletter here: dariusforoux.com/wise-wealthy