Writing

Finding Your Beat Is Easier Than You Think

Pay attention to what you like as much as you do trends.

Morgan Jerkins
Creators Hub

--

Photo by Lee Pigott on Unsplash

Let me tell you something, finding a beat is hard, especially if you’re a person with wildly diverse interests like me. Some days I get lost in the classism within Disney Renaissance films, other days I’m thinking about the West’s obsession with Cleopatra VII. Just the other day, I was thinking of afrocubanismo and Celia Cruz. You get the picture. But I’ll be honest, when I was first starting out, I didn’t have these options. Like many other young women and particularly women of color, I got my start with “hot takes” and “personal essays.” I didn’t break in through an investigative report or a celebrity profile, even though I desperately wanted to take on these assignments. And though my portfolio has fortunately expanded to other forms of writing since then, I have noticed patterns. I love looking at the intersections of race, gender, and class especially with a historical bent. When finding a beat, look at the underlying patterns and themes in what interests you.

And here’s the thing about the world: You are always going to find someone who has the same interests as you. You will establish an audience once you get into a groove and you become assured and confident in what you like. Then your voice and flow will naturally come through in your writing. The way in which to establish an audience is to first start with an audience of one: you. Don’t get into a pickle like many emerging writers do when they feel like they don’t have anything worthwhile to say. There is a wonderful quote by Rabbi Nachman that says, “The day you were born, G-d decided the world could not exist without you.” In other words, you are worthwhile and you do have something worthwhile to say. And even in the days where you don’t believe, fake it till you make it. Friends or editors can give you that extra push.

Pay attention to the publications that you like, not necessarily the ones that are the most prestigious. Read their articles and get a feel for the voice and tone there. Craft your pitches to match these elements without sacrificing the integrity of your words and arguments.

And remember: Your audience may change and expand just as you change and expand as an artist and as a person. Think of your audience but don’t be held in captivity by them. What I mean by that is that people are fickle and if you base your judgment on what to do based on an audience, it may be at the detriment of your work.

--

--

Morgan Jerkins
Creators Hub

Morgan Jerkins is the Senior Editor at ZORA and a New York Times bestselling author. Her debut novel, “Caul Baby,” will be published by Harper in April 2021.