Open Thread

How to Overcome Writer’s Block

Tips from Medium writers on getting that creativity flowing again

Kawandeep Virdee
Creators Hub

--

I drew this, likely, while I was feeling creatively stuck.

I’ve been there. I’ve got the Medium editor open, ready to write… and that’s about it. No ideas are coming. Fortunately it didn’t happen for this post, because y’all shared some incredible tips in the recent open thread on writer’s block.

I’m using one of the tips here — marking a point that has me going 🤔 and moving on to work the rest of the piece. I used TK to mark this spot here in the intro. This drops a mark in the margin to easily come back to (pro-tip!).

Thanks all who shared, the advice is so thoughtful. We’ve highlighted a few responses below. Be sure to check out the full discussion for more tips.

You might be feeling pressure to write something great. Try working on something that feels less demanding.

The main solution to writer’s block for me seems to be tricking my brain into thinking what I’m writing isn’t important. Usually what’s blocking me is my own perfectionism and the pressure to perform, so I find ways to fool myself into writing Other Things that are not The Thing that I’m currently trying to work on. I wrote about some of the specific ways I do this here.

from Laura Todd Carns

Explore writing prompts. See if one sparks your interest.

Another tried and tested method is to simply search for #prompt or check writing challenges posted in publications I follow. There has always been one that I want gets my fingers tapping away at my keyboard.

from Niru

Look through a bunch of resources. Follow your curiosity.

I’ve gathered a couple hundred books over the last few years and if I want something to write on I go to my library. On the downside, there can be too many options. But I usually find a topic all the same. I tell myself, follow your curiosity. A writer has to do that…otherwise it’s not something that can be admired, it’s not art. But I fail at that like everyone else.

from Larry G. Maguire

I like to read the newspaper for ideas when I am feeling blocked. What’s happening in the world? How do i feel about it? Getting out of your own little box, especially these days, helps me look outward.

from Amy Culberg

Go into a different environment. Get into something creative that’s totally different.

Getting into a different environment, especially one you don’t normally go to (do so safely, though!). Leave the screens behind and take a notebook, a good pen, and maybe a camera (an actual one, so you’re not distracted). People watch, nature watch, traffic watch — whatever. Write notes, or your “What if…” questions, no matter how outlandish or mundane.

Do something creative but entirely different — even if you’re terrible at it. Painting, pottery, sewing, cooking, jigsaw puzzles, etc.

from Trine Daely

I’m a big lover of stepping away from my project. Going for a walk, meditating anything that takes me to another place. By having this kind of distance I usually come back feeling inspired.

from Indra

Create a goal based on quantity, instead of overthinking quality. If nothing comes up, try doing more research.

I try to have a quantity-related intention when I sit down. I’m going to write ____ today. There’s no framing of ‘quality’ around it because that creates intimidation. Writer’s block is mostly a fear of inadequacy.

If I know what I’m going to write about but don’t know what to write, there is likely an information problem. I need to do more research and understand it. I might put a few thoughts down then go for a walk and listen to a podcast about it. Or read up on the subject.

from Sean Kernan

If you’re stuck, mark the spot and skip ahead. You’ll likely have ideas when you come back later.

If I’m stuck on a section, I simply insert a row of X’s: XXXXXX as a marker to come back to later.
When working on screenplays, it’s fairly easy in that the writing is broken up into very definite scenes. But it works for other writing as well. I’ve found sometimes the part i was stuck on was more because I was forcing it in at the wrong point, and the exposition I was trying to force came out naturally later.

from Andrew Somers

Try tweaking your creative process.

Much of the time, I find that when people describe “writer’s block”, they’re really describing process problems. And processes can be tweaked. Here are my thoughts and specific strategies around writer’s block.

from Thomas Smith

Keep a journal nearby. You never know when ideas will come to mind!

I personally keep a journal or notebook with me in case something interesting gives me motivation to write about. I have learned that when your experiencing writers block allow your brain to relax and give yourself the wiggle time to allow yourself the opportunity to write freely when something inspirational comes to mind.

from Meshell Baylor

I’ll get ideas while I’m brushing my teeth or late at night. I keep my notebook or phone handy so that I can jot down my thoughts quickly.

from Elaine Hamilton

Take some time to free write. Let go of the pressure to figure things out.

With a demanding day job, writer’s block can feel particularly frustrating (i.e. “this is the only time I have to write today, and the creative juices just aren’t flowing, dammit!”). That’s when I turn to a pen-and-paper stream of consciousness exercise. I set a timer for some period of time (usually 10–15 minutes), pick up a notebook, and start writing. It could be random words, phrases, sentences, or story ideas. The point is that I’m writing and not judging what comes out. Sometimes, when looking back later, I’ll find hidden gems that I can turn into stories. If I’m stumped on a particular story, I might switch it up from a truly free-form exercise to a slightly more focused one. Rather than bang my head against a wall thinking “how can I finish this story so I can move onto the next thing”, I’ll give myself some time to journal on my topic. Taking a step back can really help me figure out what I’d wanted to say in the first place.

from Kathryn Dillon

Practice “Free Writing” — that is timed writing to a prompt where the only rule is to keep your hand moving and not filter or edit allowing anything at all to come out. It’s a powerful way to discover what themes want to be talked about without working at it. I offer a (free) virtual writing practice group. You can learn more here: https://marijkemccandless.com/write-now-mind/

from Marijke McCandless

Take a break. Rest, and see what your body needs.

First off… Don’t think of it as writers block, think of it as writers “fatigue”.
Writers fatigue is a physical thing and it’s simply due to your body and brain being tired or undernourished! So the best thing to do is literally rest and/or feed your body & brain.

from Eric Fermon™

Look into why you’re feeling stuck. That’s the path to explore.

I think Writer’s block is too generic a term. I believe that too often we just want to hop over the “why” we are stuck, and jump over to a solution. But the “why” might well be the way.

Cause the writer is never blocked: the ego is blocked. The secret, therefore, is to “get out of the way of one’s writing”. The writing isn’t about you. Let it sing.

from Stefania Montagna

Make the process playful. Turn it into a game.

Turning my writing, self-editing, revising, publishing, and other processes and projects into fun games is the best discovery I made to bypass any resistance, including writer’s block. The awareness that any project or activity is already a game and that I am both the designer (or at the very least co-designer) AND player of these project and activity games are fantastic and utterly empowering.

from Victoria Ichizli-Bartels, Ph.D.

Contemplate topics to write about throughout the day. Try it before you sleep, and when you wake up.

Some advice from Stephen King in a video I watched on YouTube was to constantly spend time thinking about what you want to write. Before you sleep, picture it, dream of it. When you wake up, imagine it and try to capture the vividness from your dream on the page.

from LuluParise

What’s been capturing your attention? This includes distractions too. Write about that.

Follow your attention: if something is pissing you off, exciting you, making you curious, you’ll be more likely to be engaged in writing about it!

from Corkscrewannie

--

--

Kawandeep Virdee
Creators Hub

Building. Author of “Feeling Great About My Butt.” Previously: Creators @Medium, Product @embedly, Research @NECSI. http://whichlight.com.