Perfect Plotting for a Great Post

Your road map to writing compelling short reads

Yi Shun Lai
Creators Hub

--

Photo: Jamie Street/Unsplash

When writers think “plot,” we often think of longer works: movies, novels. But the same things that make a book “unputdownable” or a movie utterly irresistible can help your posts, articles, and essays, too. They can keep your readers intrigued as they read and keep them coming back for more of your work.

I mined my expertise in editing and in teaching writing for five tips that’ll improve any post’s readability. They don’t all have to be used all at once, but you’ll find they work well in tandem.

Keep an end goal in mind

You sat down to write a post because you had something to say. That’s terrific! (You should celebrate every single time you come up with an idea, by the way.) But if you’re anything like me, you have a million other things rattling around in your brainpan, and you might get a little lost when you actually get to the writing part. So keep your eyes on the prize. Remember the point you were trying to make in the first place.

Case study: When I began writing this post, I went veering down the road of how mountain biking is like writing, because I came up with this idea for better plotting in posts while I was out on my mountain bike. Don’t do that. Keep your eyes on the prize…

--

--

Yi Shun Lai
Creators Hub

Author: A SUFFRAGISTS’S GUIDE TO THE ANTARCTIC (2024), Pin Ups (2020). Former columnist, The Writer. theGooddirt.org Psst: Say “yeeshun.” You can do it!