Creator Spotlight

The Writer Who Fights Burnout, One Post at a Time

Amardeep Parmar helps readers reach their goals and achieve their dreams

Medium Creators
Creators Hub

--

Every month here at Creators Hub, we’re featuring a creator who is doing something really cool on the platform. So far we’ve profiled management strategist Roger Martin and humor writer and publication editor Kyrie Gray.

Next up: Amardeep Parmar, a writer who has had a very unusual journey on Medium. He only started writing in 2020, and soon went viral. He’s reached millions of readers with his Medium posts about mindfulness, business, and finding balance, and has expanded his offerings to include a newsletter, podcast, and courses.

We asked Amardeep a few questions via email.

Creators Hub: If someone only read one of your Medium posts, which should it be and why?

Amardeep Parmar: This is like choosing my favorite child! While I think I’m constantly growing as a person and as a writer, an earlier piece about why people misunderstand ikigai is still a personal favorite. I believe in the message with all my heart and I think it can help so many people who feel pressured to find their purpose. It captures who I am and want I want to put out into the world.

What made you want to write the stuff you’ve been writing? How do you make sure you don’t get burned out while writing about burn out?

I’ve loved reading but found I’d often disagree with what I read especially around hustle culture and success. It was something always on my mind so I set myself a new year’s resolution for 2020 to start writing. My main goal was simply to try to process my own thoughts in a way that could help others. I always write about topics that genuinely interest me and have millions of article ideas yet to be written.

The threat of burnout has loomed over me for as long as I can remember. I have a mildly obsessive nature where once I find something I enjoy, I throw myself fully into it. It happened with karate, it happened with dance, and it happened with writing. I confess I’ve burned out writing several times because I’ve ignored my own advice. Isn’t it funny how the human mind works? Knowing I do this is what keeps me so passionate about the topic. I know there’s no perfect answer so I find methods that work for me at different stages of my life and create new ones when they stop working.

For people reading this, it all starts from self-awareness. You need to understand how your own mind works and what your tendencies are so you can apply the advice which works for you. For me, I know I need quiet reflection time every week where I can reassess my goals and check they are still sustainable. It’s pointless freaking yourself out over arbitrary deadlines if they don’t serve you.

What are the last three profiles you’ve followed on Medium?

There are many great writers who I love to read. If you already follow me (which I hope you do, right ;)) then check out my profile and who I follow. You’ll find some gems there! In terms of who I’ve followed most recently, it’s Pete Sena, Elizabeth Dawber, and Amy Shearn.

You’re a relatively new creator on Medium, but you saw quick growth in followers from the start. Do you have any advice for creators looking to connect with more readers?

Yes, my journey on Medium has blown away even my wildest dreams. The stat I will use until my dying day, and potentially put on my tombstone, is only Barack Obama has grown faster than me as a new writer since I started on Medium. I personally think he had a bit of an unfair advantage though.

My greatest advice is to be yourself. There are so many creators who are trying to copy their idols or to chase the latest trends. Unless you’re someone like Barack Obama, the only way you can stand out is by having a voice people enjoy reading. A higher-level narrative should flow through your writing so people know what you stand for. After reading a few of my articles, it should be clear my focus is on how to chase your dreams without losing sight of what matters along the way. Your narrative should be based on your life experiences not what you think will sell. I didn’t start writing to become someone who would grow to the size I did. If you have the same mindset I had at the start of processing your own thoughts in a way that can offer value to readers, I don’t think you can go too far wrong. The work of Barbara Oakley, PhD, has had a huge effect on the way I think about creativity.

Is there a specific feature of Medium you really enjoy? Something you think new Medium creators might not know about or be using but that they should?

I personally love the tags pages because I can just get lost in a topic for hours on end. It’s a great way to go down a wormhole of interesting content. I think sometimes people forget there are years upon years of great stories on Medium waiting to be discovered. When you first get your membership, you should go wild!

Follow Amardeep Parmar for more! And be sure to stay tuned to Creators Hub for next month’s Creator Spotlight.

--

--