WRITE HERE

Time to Grow Up | Write Here Wednesday

My fave essays about becoming your true self

Jolie A. Doggett
Creators Hub
Published in
4 min readAug 11, 2021

--

What does being an adult really mean? These Write Here writers may have the answer! (Photo credit: Getty Images)

Hey writers! Over the last few weeks, I’ve been inspired by all of your stories about moving forward: Moving out of childhood, moving on after relationships, moving away from other’s expectations of you.

I picked out some of my fave stories you’ve written about becoming your full selves, growing up and taking better care of yourselves. Give them a read, clap, comment and follow and, if you’re feeling inspired, write your own essay and tag “Writehere.”

Adulthood Came As a Shock to Me

“If adulthood is about balancing your work, your child, and your home, then please clap for me. I am doing it all and I am not complaining. I am loving it so far. If it is ordinary, I don’t care. I am living it and I am happy.

Does anything else matter?” –– Neelamaziz

A Room Full of Bookshelves

“Did I have all the answers while growing up? No, because I wasn’t really asking the questions. If childhood could be summed up in one sentence, it’s the answer to my husband’s insistent ‘what ifs’ as a child. He’d ask his older brothers ‘what if this’ and ‘what if that’ and they invariably responded…

--

--

Jolie A. Doggett
Creators Hub

writer | editor | reader | podcaster | people person | (i used to work here ☺️)