Animal Advocacy

3 Things Your Dog Walker Wants You To Know

From a business owner who cares

Aricka Dobias
Creatures
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2020

--

White dog with black patch over right eye sits in grass with tounge sticking out
Athena having a mid-walk break. Photo: Aricka Dobias

I own and operate a pet care business in the suburbs of Houston. It is an enjoyable, highly personal business. People who hire a professional to come to their house every day and walk their dog, tend to care genuinely for their pets and choose to prioritize those pets in their lifestyle choices. My best clients know these things without having to be told.

1. Your walker needs to know if anything or anyone unusual will be around

If the yard guy, the housekeeper, the a/c repair tech, or your cousin John will be visiting today, we need to prepare for that in advance. My biggest fear as an independent pet care pro is that I (or one of my contract employees) will walk into a home in the middle of the day when I should be alone with the dog(s), and I’ll be attacked or otherwise injured. If that happens, there is a strong possibility that no one would notice a problem for hours. I have fail-safes in place, but it’s far from a perfect system, and I’m confident I’m not the only dog walker with this fear.

--

--

Aricka Dobias
Creatures

Lover of pets & chronically self employed. Find me on Discord for a fun time: https://discord.gg/ABt5Np2