4 Mistakes I Made When I Adopted a Blind Kitten

And what I did to fix them

Nancy Parish
Creatures

--

Scout, photo courtesy of the author

In January, I adopted a blind kitten. I had gone with a friend to yoga at a kitty café. I hadn’t planned to adopt that day. We attended so my friend could scope out the kitties and perhaps find some kittens she might be interested in adopting. Instead, I fell in love with a blind kitten. I adopted Scout the next day. I’ve learned a lot from that experience.

I adopted on a whim and didn’t do any due diligence

I failed to do any research before I adopted Scout. As a result, I had no idea how different life with a blind kitten would be. Although I quarantined Scout in a separate room from my other cats, Scout needed extra time to get used to her surroundings. She hadn’t learned normal kitten behaviors by watching her mama. Everything she did was by instinct.

The Fix: Scout probably thinks her name is “Stop.” I found myself saying that to her whenever she was about to step on my laptop or claw at my leg. Each time, she would tilt her head to the side like she didn’t understand. Now I speak softly to her. I found that when I do this, she does stop. Then I ask her to play instead of walking across the laptop. I keep a supply of her toys nearby and throw one for her to retrieve. By engaging in play, she’s no longer…

--

--

Nancy Parish
Creatures

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/