Animal Advocacy | Movies

6 Great Movies About Animals

How to inspire children to love nature

Iselin Aspen
Creatures
Published in
5 min readMay 15, 2021

--

From Ailo’s Journey

I find movies such a great way to discover the world, and inspire kids to learn more about all kinds of things. But the good movies can be really hard to find, and I’m always disappointed when I find myself wasting away time on something that just wasn’t worth it.

One of the great themes for family time is of course animals. It’s usually quite a safe theme to pick, because it tends to be both family friendly, fun and educational all at once. Here are a few tips of movies that I and my family have enjoyed watching together.

1. AILO’S JOURNEY

Ailo’s Journey, also called “A Reindeer’s Journey,” is a movie by Gillaume Maidatchevsky from 2018.

It’s an amazing movie, with beautiful wildlife scenery, where you get to follow the first year in a caribou calf’s life. The movie was filmed in Finnish Lapland, and is not your typical documentary. Instead, the script is turned into a personal story, the adventure of one single calf named Ailo. The English narrator (Donald Sutherland) beautifully guides you through the different joys and dangers that may occur during the migration of the flock over the mountains. It’s truly a captivating story for the whole family.

--

--

Iselin Aspen
Creatures

Busy mum, blogger and musician, trying to thrive in Scandinavia. I write about freedom, history, nature, hypocrisy and anything that tickles my mind.