Animal Anecdote

Are You Thinking of Adopting a Pet Bird?

My experience with a pair of budgies

Daryl Correa
Creatures

--

Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

In the beginning

Earlier this year, I had decided that I want to adopt a pet, preferably a dog. But, my mom was not happy with my decision with getting a dog home for very good reasons like high maintenance, uncomfortable guests. So, I had to rule out dogs from my pet list. Out of all the possible pets, the least experience I had was with birds. So, I decided to get a bird. :D

Welcome Home

I had no knowledge about birds other than their ability to poop on humans in most unexpected situations. I started reading about their behavior, care and even got permission granted by my mom. What a day! I went to the pet store that evening and got a pair of budgies home.

The first day

I put some millet in a bowl and water in another and patiently waited for them to eat. But, they never stepped down from the perch. I was a little worried, so were they. They were totally anxious, experiencing a whole new environment with horror. I tried giving them a grated carrot, coriander leaves. Nothing worked. Meanwhile, I was constantly reading about birds and made myself feel better that it’s totally normal for them to panic in the new environment.

The next day

They stepped down the perch, started moving around, had their meal, and I could see that they were feeling better. So, the very next thing on my checklist was to make them perch on my finger. I couldn’t get it checked for the next one and a half months. Even though they are commonly domesticated, they are still wilder than dogs and cats. So, it takes time to tame them.

Today

It’s been nearly 3 months since I got them and they are very comfortable with myself and my family and happily chirp and perch on my finger and take their treats. It’s rewarding to have a bird as a pet as they keep your mind calm by their bright colors and sprightly nature.

I am happy to share any tips on handling birds that I have learned so far, do not hesitate to ask me any questions. Cheers :)

--

--