Animal Anecdote

Five Tips for Staying Pawsitive Through Stress

Seeing life through a puppy’s eyes

Robert Sedam, DVM
Creatures
Published in
4 min readSep 18, 2020

--

Photo by Hendo Wang on Unsplash

I’ve recently been writing a lot about my favorite visits to the veterinary clinic each day. All visits have the potential to be fun, but of course, puppies and kittens are the most. Now, one might think that these visits are all that fill a veterinarian’s day; but unfortunately, that’s not the case.

We see the whole gamut of animal illness, and sometimes that leads to tough decisions and discussions. The reality is that some weeks can be long and emotionally draining.

Lately, work had been that way for me. During a period of feeling sorry for myself, my dog taught me five lessons that brightened my outlook and inspired me to be more pawsitive (I know. I’m sorry! I couldn’t resist)…

Number 1: It’s okay if someone doesn’t want to be your friend

The evening air and low lighting of the side yard bring many a bug to the dog run each night. This gathering of wildlife is always a great experience for my dog, Feta. However, the bugs often see it differently.

I find myself watching in mild amusement as Feta approaches each bug on the wall and daringly introduces herself. A cold nose to the back is…

--

--

Robert Sedam, DVM
Creatures

Small animal veterinarian hoping to provide honest insight into the veterinary profession. Find me at pawspressplay.com. Contact: pawspressplay@gmail.com