How my Pets Help me Cope With my Chronic Illness

Madeline Michelle Dubon
Creatures
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2020

I was diagnosed with Cystic Fibrosis (CF) at 10 months old. CF is a genetic disease that affects many organ systems in the body but mainly the respiratory and digestive systems. CF overloads these areas with thick mucus, which makes the lungs a perfect little hotel for bacteria to grow and live happy lives (yum!). This causes persistent and ongoing lung infections, deteriorating the lungs and decreasing lung function as time goes on. Most patients eventually need a lung transplant. Aside from the lung perspective, it’s very difficult for many CFers to absorb nutrients properly. Weight gain sometimes seems impossible, which can be a blessing in disguise as some would say, but being underweight brings its own set of problems, both physically and mentally.

Living with a fatal chronic disease can be isolating and lonely a lot of the time. Although I have been incredibly lucky and have a great support system, it doesn’t remove my constant battle with mental health. I’ve found great comfort and peace in having a constant companion, who is always by my side no matter what. I had my first dog when I was about 8 years old. A sassy, beautiful chihuahua named Beba. She taught me the art of running free, loyalty, and how to speak up. She was not afraid to tell my dad off when she didn’t want to get off my bed, or protect me at all costs, despite her tiny size. She was a real fighter, for a good cause! Sadly, I had to leave my fierce companion back home when I moved from Guatemala to Canada. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

Since Beba, I started fostering future Dog Guides, which I won’t get into too much at this time, but wow, what a great experience. My two foster dogs, Neptune and Yoni, became a part of my story that I will never forget. They were with me through some of the most difficult CF episodes and mental health episodes. They would come to my lectures, sit through my 2hr treatments with me, listen to me cry, offer me cuddles when I needed them the most, and so much more. They were always happy to be there. Eventually, they both went off to perform a new job. Neptune graduated as an epilepsy service dog and the wonderful Yoni, became the forever best mate of a little boy with Autism. They’re true heroes.

Yoni showing off his best sitting skills at 7 weeks (Michelle Dubon)

Once I became a little more financially stable, I made the best decision of my life and adopted my girl, Kaya. This dog looks at me like nothing has ever looked at me before. She gives me a reason to stay active, since it’s so crucial in order to keep my lungs as healthy as possible. She shares the same love of hiking the biggest mountains with me. It’s the perfect match and I feel so lucky to have found her.

Kaya and I sharing some Eskimo kisses (Michelle Dubon)

All my animals have had such a huge impact in my battle with anxiety, depression, stress, and my physical health. Because of this, I decided to give back to the animal world by making it my career. I became a Registered Veterinary Technician and currently work at an animal shelter. I’m a huge advocate of the human-animal bond and all the benefits it encompasses, especially for mental health. For me, it has me given me purpose.

For more information on how to foster future Dog Guides near the GTA please visit: https://www.dogguides.com/foster.html

If you’re interested in adopting a new best friend, please contact your local animal shelter, animal rescue, or animal services. It’s incredibly rewarding!

--

--