SCHNAUZER | DOG GROOMING | ADVICE

Prepping Your Miniature Schnauzer for the Groomer

How to set your puppy up for success and turn them into a smart Schnauzer!

Nixi C
Creatures
Published in
5 min readJul 3, 2021

--

My first dog- my very special boy Jack

Miniature schnauzers are great! If you’re reading this, I’m sure you don’t need any convincing! My first dog, Jack, a Miniature Schnauzer was full of character. My love for the breed means that in my career as a dog groomer my day is always brightened up with a new enquiry from a Miniature Schnauzer puppy parent! Here are my top tips as a dog groomer for setting them up a successful experience at the groomers.

Have a consultation first

Book a slot with your groomer to meet with your puppy before the grooming appointment. This allows your puppy to have a sniff and explore the salon, which will be a big part of their life. Sniffing is a calming activity for dogs, if you can scatter some treats around the floor for them to pick up, even better!

The groomer can also help prepare them for what is to come. Turning on the shower, the dryer, the clippers to help prepare them is a good start. Calm behaviour must be praised. Any signs of stress, go back a step, dogs must never be pushed too far.

--

--

Nixi C
Creatures

My life revolves around animals- working as a dog groomer and puppy parent to my gorgeous rescue dog. In between dog haircuts I love to write!