Pet Ownership | Anecdote

7 Things I Changed When I Became A Cat Mom

I don’t regret any of them

Nancy Parish
Creatures
Published in
4 min readApr 18, 2021

--

Harper Lee/ Photo courtesy of the author

I’ve always loved cats. When my elementary school held a hobby show, I displayed my cat collection. I had stuffed animals, ceramic cat statues, and cat books. Whatever I had at home that had a cat on it, in it or about it, I brought to the hobby show. I’m sure I even attempted to bring our family cat, Dusty but was shot down for logistical reasons and common sense. When I moved out on my own, it wasn’t hard to believe I would adopt a cat of my own.

What I didn’t expect to happen were the changes I made once I became a cat mom — the things you do for love.

1. Buying flowers

Before I became a cat mom, I would occasionally buy myself flowers from the florist section at the nearby grocery store. I continued to do this when I adopted my first cats. They had a great time knocking over the flowers and playing in the carnage they created. As I’ve gotten to know more about my feline friends, I learned that some plants are in fact quite toxic to them. It was with that knowledge that I backed away almost entirely from buying flowers.

The few times I’ve purchased flowers since I’ve adopted my cats, I’ve focused on florals my cats could tolerate. PetMd lists…

--

--

Nancy Parish
Creatures

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/