Animal Anecdote

What the Squeak? My Dog is Obsessed Again

Why I’ve learned to always supervise him with squeak toys

Nancy Lovering
Creatures
Published in
3 min readNov 15, 2020

--

Photo by Lum3n from Pexels

Apparently, my dog is a mouse guy.

The latest batch of squeak toys we brought home each had a distinctively different sound. One chirped like a bird and one honked like a goose, but the toy he liked the most made sounds you’d hear from a captured mouse.

To say that the mouse toy was “his favorite” is like saying a hurricane is mildly disruptive. The words “manic obsession” is a better description of his reaction. He chomp-honked the goose and dropped it, then did the same with the bird, but the mouse? Let’s just say I’m still finding forgotten pieces of white stuffing in random corners.

As I write this, he’s returned to the duck because the mouse has been decimated and discarded. He’s stopped the “mouth squish” portion of his play and has begun molar-gnawing a seam to gain access to the noise maker inside. I have to watch him closely so I can catch him when he reaches the plastic squeaker (more about my reason why, in a bit).

Finally, he’s done it. Captain, we have a hull breach.

I manage to get the toy away from him (believe it or not) — a maneuver involving one hand on his scruff and the other in…

--

--

Nancy Lovering
Creatures

Health and Psychology Writer | #T1D mom | Owned by two Siberian huskies ❤