Education

What You Need to Know About EPI

The rare disease often overlooked and misdiagnosed by veterinarians

Xennariel Revenlyr
Creatures
Published in
6 min readJan 20, 2021

--

My EPI boy Zephyr posing for the camera during our latest trip to the dog park

I’m here to raise awareness about a disease I had no idea existed until several months ago. I’m no expert, but I want to share everything I’ve learned as an owner of a dog diagnosed with EPI. Personal experience is often the best teacher.

Zephyr’s EPI story

When my Border Heeler pup Zephyr was about nine months old, we noticed he seemed to be losing weight and was always hungry. I didn’t think too much about him being hungry all the time. That’s not unusual for dogs. What was starting to worry me was his weight loss and unusual looking stools.

Zephyr’s poop started to be nothing but diarrhea that looked like cow patties dotting the side of our backyard where he liked to do his business. Having just lost my beloved first dog to lymphoma and kidney failure several months prior, I knew this was not at all normal. I was used to watching for any oddities in my dog’s poop since you can learn quite a bit about their health by the way it looks.

I tried the usual at-home remedies for doggy diarrhea in case it was maybe just the food or new snacks we’d been feeding him. Unfortunately, nothing was working. After this went on for a few…

--

--

Xennariel Revenlyr
Creatures

Gamer, wannabe artist, dog mom, and fantasy genre enthusiast. My dogs Zephyr and Maverick are my world. Consider supporting my work: https://ko-fi.com/xennariel