Animal Advocacy

Why You Should Adopt, Not Shop

Look past your breed preferences

Darby Days
Creatures
Published in
7 min readJun 20, 2020

--

Photo by Pierre Bamin on Unsplash

Background information

As a long-term employee at a non-profit animal shelter, I am an advocate for animal adoption versus purchasing from a breeder or seller. Over my two years of work with my current employer, I have learned a lot about the animal industry through listening to professionals, conducting secondary research, and through speaking with owners.

During my time working as an adoption agent, I had countless conversations with first-time adopters, that were filled with misunderstanding and lacking knowledge. I don’t blame these individuals for not knowing much about the animal world, however, this is why it is essential to share truths about this industry; we need to educate people.

When you take on an animal, where you get the animal from directly affects how our society progresses in regard to improving animal welfare. These are some of the most important aspects of animal adoption that you should know.

The ‘whys’

You will encounter lower upfront costs

--

--

Darby Days
Creatures

Toronto-based Creative Director | Founder of Creatures