FAIL/WITH FASHION POST

Agathe Le Couteulx
Creatyststudios
Published in
5 min readSep 14, 2016

This week, on my social media, the consign was to create four pieces of content about what we want and compare the engagement created on Facebook compared with Instagram. Since September 7th, fashion week has begun. It was clear that for me I wanted to create my content about my favorite brand Chloé. The Fall/Winter Fashion Show of Chloé will take place on Friday September 29th, and I have decided to highlight this via social media content. Unfortunately, on social network, the engagement has been low as my friends and followers have not really reacted to my posts, I therefore feel like it has failed. In this blog post I will try to understand why this is the case and what I could have done better.

My network on Facebook and Instagram is exclusively friends and family. I think that most of them were surprised to see my post of today. Above all because I rarely post content on my personal social media except for some pictures with my friends or when I travel. I never share any business content, for this I use LinkedIn. Moreover, the fact that I posted all the content in one day did not help with engagement, because it is too much information. Even if I have applied some basics that I have learn about media post such as the hashtag, publishing at specific hours (8.00 AM, 1.00 PM and 6.00 PM.) my engagement is really low certainly because most of my contacts are French but my posts are in English and I have posted in US time.

Photofy post in Instagram

My first post was a Photofy. I posted this at midnight (6.00 AM in France). This post is a picture of Chloé campaign and I added the date of the Spring-Summer runway of Chloé in Paris. In term of engagement, this post is the best one. My engagement in Facebook is about 2,56% and 7,96% in Instagram. Not bad compared with the average engagement for luxury brands: 1,2% for Facebook and 1,53% for Instagram. This post was also my favorite, I love the picture, it was simple but efficient. You see my post and can directly know what I want to mean. For this post, I have put 5 relevant and famous hashtags. And on Facebook I wrote “More soon…” to engage my friends and prepare them for the posts to come. I think it is a good way to create some curiosity.

Chloé Fall/Winter Fashion Week

For my second post, I created a video about the last fashion show of Chloé. You can see all the looks presented during the runway. The music in my video is the song that you can heard in Chloé advertising for the Fall/Winter collection. The video lasts 30 seconds. My post was at 8:30 AM in US and 2:30 PM in France. It is bad timing because my contacts are already in class or at work. The engagement on Facebook was not too bad (2,56%) but it fell sharply in Instagram (1,77%). I expected this result on Instagram because it is not a good place to post a video compared to Facebook.

Boomerang post in Instagram

At 1.00 PM in US and 7.00 PM in France, it is the perfect time, so I posted a boomerang of F/W Fashion show. It is a famous application that creates captivating mini videos that loop back and forth. For my posts on Facebook and Instagram, I used some good hashtags, the flag of France to engage with my friends and I was sure that I would reach a good level of engagement with this post but the result was very disappointing. Only 0,9% in Facebook and 1,33% in Instagram. At this point, I think engagment had fallen because I had posted too much about the same topic and my social media pages are not usually used for advertising the brand Chloé.

Chloé Fashion Show Gif

For my last post, I used Gif content. I used some of my favorite looks of Chloé Fall/Winter Fashion Week. It was 4.00 PM in US and 10.00 PM in France. Not really a good time but my audience engagement was better on Facebook than for the previous post : 1,53%. For Instagram, I obtained only one like from my followers so my engagement is approximatively 0,44%. It is my worst result. Again, like for the video, Instagram is not the best social media form to use to post a Gif, so this result is not very surprising considering the fact that is also my fourth post of the day.

To conclude, I really think that using your personal social media profiles are not a good place to share professional content. Of course this can be done, but it should not be very often and it is better to create a seperate page for these business publications. Even if I have respected certain features that are used in order to engage with your audience, there is always more that can be done. For example, you could ask questions, organize competitions and mention specific people in the publication. What I have learnt today is the importance of taking more time to post and to create unique content that really captivates your audience.

By Agathe Le Couteulx

This post was created as part of the Global Luxury Management Program at the NC State Poole School of Management. All thoughts and opinions are my own. #Luxemarketing #NCStateGLM

--

--