Inside Credix — Raphael's 1-year Milestone

Laura Meyvis
Credix
Published in
3 min readJul 26, 2024

Today, we celebrate Raphael Coelho’s one-year anniversary with Credix! Over the past 12 months, Raphael, working from our São Paulo office, has been diligently managing our Credit Portfolio and Asset Liability Management. His dedication to tackling complex challenges and supporting the broader team has been invaluable. We are thrilled to have you here, Rapha! Read on to learn more about his experience at Credix!

Can you describe your overall experience working here over the past year?

This past year has been one of immense growth for me. When I joined Credix, I knew that many interesting challenges were ahead as we would tackle structuring robust credit facilities with all the financial engineering that it entails. However, I also realized that I was being invited to build upon relationships, business strategy, and, always, on tech. Having the space to walk through it all has, in many ways, made me feel prepared for anything. I always felt surrounded by very talented people committed to building something really different. So I would say the overall experience was rich and stimulating. Looking forward to next year.

What accomplishments are you hoping to achieve in the coming year?

As we scale, one of the most interesting aspects is managing the capital needs from our credit portfolio. Size, timing, and price are all factors that require not only modelling but also business decisions to back them up. So I want to achieve an end-to-end framework of asset liability management to consolidate all the decisions we make around how much capital is needed to support our customers and to grow our portfolio.

Reflecting on the last Credix offsite, what aspect stood out to you as the most enjoyable/memorable?

This offsite felt very well designed to help me get to know everyone a little better. We had strategy sessions that were really important, but the time I spent with the team members really helped me get to know them personally and also how they work and expect people to work with them. I feel that the mix of structured activities and time to just sit and talk was really nice.

If you could offer a piece of advice to your future self one year from now, what would it be?

To cultivate a bias towards action, make sure that analysis is done but always concludes in some decisions and movement. I feel good in this state of being and would like to keep on it a year from now. Also, I want to take a little more time for hobbies and leisure. :D

Considering your role, what aspect of your responsibilities brings you the most satisfaction?

I like to walk people through the frameworks we created to make decisions. These frameworks can be hedging strategies, financial engineering, some pricing or forecasting capital needs, or whatever we need to build the credit network, but I get a lot of satisfaction from making sure everyone is on the same page regarding the levers we are pulling to push the company forward.

What’s your favorite merchandise item?

I like the sweater, but I’d love to get my hands on the hoodie — it looks awesome.

--

--