JANMASHTAMI THE BIRTH OF HOPE !

CredR
CredR
Published in
3 min readAug 11, 2020

Janmashtami is the celebration of the birth of the Hindu god Krishna who gave hope to the people of Mathura during their troubling days. CredR wishes you all a happy Janmashtami and we certainly hope for the best things this year. We as a team have always worked on bringing hope to our customers. Here are a few words from our beloved customer on how CredR turned this joyous occasion more beautiful.

Krishna Janmashtami is one of the best times of the year. Apart from praying to the protector God Vishnu, who incarnated as Krishna on this day and saved many, I always look forward to visiting my grandparents that day every year. Krishna Janmashtami falls on the Ashtami day of the Badon month (according to Hindu religious beliefs). On this day it is believed that the mighty lord Krishna was born on earth to ward off evil. The whole incarnation is said to have happened many years ago at Mathura in Uttar Pradesh. Lord Krishna was born to Devaki and Vasudeva as an eighth son. It is also believed that Kansa ruthlessly killed all of Krishna’s siblings, believing in a prophecy foretold by a sage. Krishna who was born at midnight was then sent to Vrindavan in secret where he was raised by Vasudeva’s friend Nandraja and wife Yashodha. Young Krishna then grows up to become a saviour from being just a cowherd. I was raised as a staunch believer of Lord Krishna as my Naani had this usual routine of telling me fascinating stories of Lord Krishna and his brother Balrama. Every year to mark the occasion of Krishna Janmashtami, followers of Lord Krishna observe a fast till the birth of Krishna. Post midnight, all the houses in the village will be cleaned and will be decorated with festivals. As a custom, people also tie Maakhan pots (curd pots) which are considered to be the favourite pastime of Lord Krishna. Along with all the festive looks of our house and cowshed at the backyard, the magical tale of the birth of Lord Krishna narrated by my Naani (grandma) during the festival lightens up our whole village. The festival also celebrates and prays for joy, happiness, and good health to the almighty which was once denied to the people of Mathura when it was ruled by the evil King Kansa. It was an annual custom for all my cousins to gather at our family house and my Naani would re-tell the same birth of the saviour Krishna’s story with the same level enthusiasm. While all this has been a custom for so long, I love visiting the beautiful lady at least once every year. Thanks to globalization we have all moved very far from our happy places. With the pandemic making commuting through public transport even more difficult I was very depressed not knowing how to reach my Naani’s place right on time. I had plans to buy a bike but I wondered about who would deliver a bike to me? It was the same time when my friend suggested that I opt for buying a used bike from CredR and get it home delivered. Reluctantly I started checking out their website and found my dream bike at a reasonable price and even got it test-driven and delivered it at home. I got a great deal on the price of the bike along with other offers during the freedom sale. Thanks to CredR, I have traveled miles to my native place to visit my favourite Naani. Now I can enjoy and have the best happy time just like the old days.

--

--