Planning for a road trip now! A road trip to Goa during pandemic! It is the new normal!

CredR
CredR
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2020

Trust me when I say, I know how bad it is to stay locked indoors. With a sudden twist, the year 2020, changed everything for all of us, especially the travellers who just couldn’t resist backpacking & exploring the outer world, were grounded. We all felt suffocated and now since the lockdown is over, travelling safely with all the necessary COVID precautions has become the new normal. This pandemic affected me even more since I recently bought a second hand Bajaj Dominar 250 bike from CredR and I was so desperate to take it for a ride along the highways and now because of the lockdown I couldn’t.

Even though certain places in India have let go of their restrictions, the fear of travelling safely was still pertinent in me. With certain states of India opening, the opportunity for a road trip was like the desserts wait for rain. It is this opportunity which is finally going to break the bond between myself and the phones and laptop.

So as per my schedule, I started from Mumbai towards the roads which led me to the magnificent beach shores of Goa. Yes, Goa is the location for my first road trip post lockdown. With the Goa government’s nod to let tourists inside the state with no mandatory e-pass and COVID -19 test, travellers and bike enthusiasts travelling into Goa were just asked to submit to temperature checking and to maintain social distancing always with you safety gears on. This is particularly why visiting Goa is a better choice to avoid crowds.

The entire road trip from the streets of Mumbai to the paradise on earth Goa was for about 580 km, upon reaching there, I was surprised to witness a crowd-less Goa.

The beaches and other popular destinations were empty, confirming to the new normal. During my road trip, I decided to make a few stops to enjoy more of this break on the road. Some of the must-visit places which are safe for stays during the road trip includes Lonavala, Belgaum, Pune, etc. With few very travellers on the road, it is quite easy to get a stay. The fresh smell of the earth, soon after the short spell of rain is so refreshing and it was one highlight of this amazing road trip.

During this road trip, it was quite unusual for me to see empty beaches with no sight of people. Although I saw a few travellers at the Palolem beach, Baga beach, Anjuna and Calangute beaches. I am still in disbelief about how empty the beaches are.

The best part about this trip was it is a whole new travelling experience itself. Exploring the road with cool fresh air falling right over is itself whimsical. With tourism being one of the most affected industries due to Corona one might think to avoid travelling. Especially with the numbers still rising in India, it is still difficult to travel to some locations in India.

So if you are bored and are planning to take a trip to Goa, here are a few tips that you must know before travelling:

  • Pack light for a day trip
  • Carry your hygiene kit or personal protective equipment for you to be protective of COVID
  • Since most restrooms are closed, you may not find clean restrooms. Make sure you use a clean restroom and make sure you wash/sanitize your hands before and after using them
  • Booking rooms by planning ahead is advised
  • Carry a sleep sheet and a pillow to avoid the risk of getting infected
  • Keep yourself and your bike sanitized regularly, to ensure your safe travel
  • Always confirm your stay prior

Disclaimer: Make sure you follow all the necessary precautions before and during your travel. Try to travel safe! Happy Travelling.

--

--