Photo by Kasia Sikorska on Unsplash

A Note

Steve Frank
Cries from Inside
Published in
1 min readJan 8, 2024

--

A Note.
I received a note.
A note you sent.
A note you wrote.
To…

Me

I…

Received

In surprise,
I received.
In fear,
I received.
Confounded,
I considered.
Considered whether to…

Open

To open.
To read.
To reveal.
To learn…

What?

To open,
to reopen,
The past.
A past I had put away.
A past still not…

Forgotten

Not forgotten,
but…

Contained

Packaged.
Restrained.
Constrained.

A past to be left behind.
A past to be left…

Alone

Alone,
as I was.
As I am.
As I have learned to be.
As I must…

Remain

I…
constrained.
I…
restrained.
I…
detained.
I…
remain…

Alone

And now…
a…
ㅤㅤ note.

A note,
straining against the restraints.
A note,
re-presenting the past.
A note,
representing the past.
A note,
unpacking the packaged.
A note,
unlocking the baggage.

A note.

I received a note.

--

--

Steve Frank
Cries from Inside

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.